Season sign-off at The Pleasuredome

  Posted on: June 6th, 2010

The beautiful house and garden of Hans and Yvonne De Wit, aka ‘The Pleasuredome’, was the wonderful setting for the 2010 Cricket Peru Awards Lunch, on Sunday, 30th May, which set the seal on a fantastic outdoor season. The awards were as follows:

  • Batsman of the Year: Tim Nichols
  • Bowler of the Year: Boby Rajput
  • Fielder of the Year: Vishal Vaidya

 Chimu Adventures Twenty20 Shield:

  • Winners: Lima Cricket & Football Club
  • Player of the Tournament: Mike Soulsby

 Caledonian International Twenty20 Trophy:

  • Winners: Lima Cricket & Football Club
  • Player of the Tournament: Hans De Wit

 Caledonian International Twenty20 Plate:

  • Winners: Chak De
  • Player of the Tournament: Peter Biesse

 Cricket Peru ‘Pick & Six’ Tournament:

  • Winners: Tim XS
  • Player of the Tournament: Miles Buesst

Chuck Norris Award: Hardest Man in Peruvian Cricket

  • Winner: Kashyap Nansi: for playing two games of cricket whilst wearing a plaster cast on his leg, having injured his knee skiing. Nails!
  • Honourable Mentions:

i.      Chris Hodgson: top-edging a pull into his own, unprotected face … and batting on regardless. Undeterred.

ii.      David Murphy: for preferring to use his head rather than his hands when fielding at deep mid-off. Tired and emotional.

  • Prize: A hunting knife

 Geoff Boycott Award for the Best Test Match Batsman

  • Winner: John Bell: for consistently refusing to adapt his natural game to the demands of Twenty20 cricket.  Unfazed.
  • Honourable Mentions:

i.      James Robinson

ii.     Damien Catchpole

  • Prize: A Freddie Flintoff DVD & a copy of ‘The Multi-Orgasmic Man’

 Iron Man 2 Award for The Hardest Hands in Cricket

  • Winner: James Robinson: for one of the most shocking drops of a looping ball ever witnessed at Lima Cricket Club 
  • Honourable Mentions:

i.       Sonu: for dropping approximately 100 balls in a row at fielding practice

ii.      Tony Sanford: for trying to crush the ball, rather than just catch it

iii.     Harry Hildebrand: for being unable to take a catch, without cutting his hands

  • Prize: A Bottle of Hand Moisturizer & 5 Hand Warmers

 Trinny & Susannah Award for The Best Dressed Cricketer

  • Winner: Chris Hodgson: for a pair of green and purple ‘lucky’ briefs, regularly exposed in the scorehut.  
  • Honourable Mentions:

i.      Rory Sheldon: for playing in a Spiderman costume. Really.

ii.     Tom Jolly: for pre-war cricket whites and plimsolls. Old school.

iii.    Tim Kernutt: took over the Tony Sanford mantle of wearing the shortest shorts while playing cricket. Barely legal.

  • Prize: An assortment of Unfashionable Clothing from Miles’ wardrobe

 Monty Panesar Award for The Most Enthusiastic Appealer (Unhindered by any Concept of the Laws of Cricket)

  • Winner: Anish: for leading the way amongst the Chak De appealing army. Enthusiastic.
  • Honourable Mentions:

i.      Tony Sanford: despite being the highest-qualified umpire in Peru, still thinks it’s possible to get a front foot LBW when bowling off-spin round the wicket, on a pitch with prodigious spin and bounce. Optimistic.

  • Prize: A copy of The Laws of Cricket