Peru team wins international Cricket Veloz Trophy

Tags:, , , , ,   Posted on: April 14th, 2010

The morning of Sun, 11th April saw four teams battle it out in the Cricket Veloz tournament.  Games were played between teams of seven players (One keeper and six bowlers) who bowled six overs per innings.  The third-placed team in the Twenty20 tournament (Peru) entered two teams of 7 players: one team called the Alpacas, captained by Tulio Silgado; and the other, the Vicuñas, captained by Sjoerd De Wit.

The Alpacas played the first game against Argentina (who split their squad in two, one for game one and the other for game two – the first team was led by Nacho Pizzo).  The Argentineans batted first and raced away to a big score of 59 with Matias Lado playing some interesting, IPL-inspired shots on his way to 33.  Joaquin Salazar was a star in his first outing behind the stumps with a stumping and a run out.

The Alpacas reply never really got going, with the previous day’s star, Ernesto Arrate leaving for a first ball duck.  Sebastian Navarra top scored with 8 as the Alpacas struggled to 3 for 33 from their six overs.

The second game saw a Gayfer and Kapur-less Chile take on the Peruvian Vicuñas.  Chile won the toss and batted and raced away to a score of 43 for 2 after their 6 overs.  The Peruvian reply started badly with the effervescent Santiago Chavez going first ball, but this brought Ignacio Villa out to join Captain Sjoerd De Wit and they managed to pass the Chilean score in the final over.

The 3rd/4th play-off final between Chile and the Alpacas was a real turn around for the Alpacas.  Captain Tulio Silgado won the toss and decided to bat. He opened the batting and this time Ernesto Arrate was on song and they produced the partnership of the Veloz tournament racing to 1 for 57 after the allotted 6 overs.

In reply, the Chilean team struggled to score against some tight bowling and ended on 2 for 25 after their 6 overs.  The Alpacas had won third place.Vicunas with cup

The final between Argentina and the Peruvian Vicuñas was difficult to predict with the Argentineans playing seven completely new cricketers led by national vice-captain Felipe Nogues and boasting the services of the previous day’s match winner, Gonzalo ‘Goncy’ Husain.

Argentina batted first and lost important wickets immediately with Martin Peralta playing on and Diego Juarez run-out backing up too far.  They stabilized somewhat after that but finished their 6 overs with just 37 runs on the board.

In reply the Vicuñas got away to a flyer with Emilio Vila swatting the Argentinean bowlers around in the brief time he was at the crease.  After that, Ignacio Villa and Captain Sjoerd De Wit kept their heads and gradually overhauled the total.  De Wit scored the winning runs from the first ball of the last over with a four and the Vicuñas celebrated their victory.

Later at the presentation De Wit was awarded the ‘Player of the Cricket Veloz tournament’ as well as the Cricket Veloz trophy.

The Cricket Veloz tournament was a huge success as it allowed all of the members of the squads from each country to participate and enjoy a quicker form of cricket … AND it was great to watch!