Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here

Peru defeats Chile on Day 2 of Under-13 Championship

  Posted on: April 11th, 2010

Day Two of the Cricket South America Under-13 Championship saw another INCREDIBLE day of Cricket at Lima Cricket Club: Sat, 10th April, 2010.

The first game was between Chile and Argentina.  ‘Nacho’ Pizzo, the captain of Argentina won the toss and put Chile in to bat and opened the bowling.  It wasn’t long before his opposite number, Raimundo Eyzaguirre, was on his way courtesy of great ball but this brought Tim Gayfer to the crease.  Gayfer batted superbly and ended the innings on 52 not out with some support from Pratyush Kapur and Jhoel Riveros.  Chile finished their 20 overs on 8 for 107.  Jimmy MacGaw chipped in with 2 wickets and a run out.Argentina squad

Argentina’s response was extremely calculated and was set up by an excellent partnership between eventual ‘Player of the Match’ Gonzalo Husain and Pedro Bisio.  Once Bisio departed, Husain was joined by Martin Peralta who released some pressure with some timely boundaries.  They finally passed the Chilean score with 3 wickets down after 16.3 overs.

In the second game, Peruvian captain, Sjoerd De Wit won the toss and decided to bat … thereby consigning Chile to another 20 overs in the field.  The move seemed to have backfired when Peru were struggling at 1 for 13 after 6 overs.  However, Emilio Vila entered and started to take the attack to the Chilean bowlers.  Unfortunately he did not last too long but blasted a quick-fire 15 and Ernesto Arrate (36 not out), the star of yesterday’s game, and Ignacio Villa (34) came in and continued on where Vila had left off.  The score accelerated and Peru finished their 20 overs with the highest score of the tournament so far, 6 for 123.

With Tim Gayfer and the Kapur brothers in the Chilean line up it was going to be a tough challenge for the Peruvian team to defend their score but they bowled and fielded with a real sense of desperation and passion.  As predicted Gayfer and Pratyush Kapur opened the batting and soon had 60 runs on the board without loss after 6 overs.  It was then that Sebastian Alegre struck, bowling Kapur and in the very next over Gayfer was caught behind by the indefatigable Santiago Chavez of the bowling of Captain De Wit.  The celebration of the Peruvians reflected the importance of the wicket, but there was still a lot of work to do.  They chipped away and took regular wickets but Deeptanshu Kapur was providing an obstacle.  He was joined by the Chilean captain Raimundo Eyzaguirre for a last wicket partnership that took them to 120 – just 3 runs short of the Peruvian total – when Ignacio Villa took a fantastic reflex catch off his own bowling to end the innings in the final over.  What a heart-stopper!Peru v Chile scoreboard

The game was later described by the President of Cricket Peru as the ‘greatest moment (so far) in Peruvian Cricket history’.  Never before had 11 ‘Peruvians’ won an international game of Cricket.  The player of the match was so difficult to select that it was presented to three players, Ernesto Arrate, Ignacio Villa and James Lewis (who took 3 for 18 and a run out in the Chilean ininnings).

The Peruvian celebrations perhaps had an adverse impact on the next game they played, just 15 minutes later.  Once again De Wit won the toss and elected to bat, but after 6 overs they were floundering at 5 for 9 after some excellent bowling from Ignacio Pizzo and Jimmy MacGaw.  Jose Ignacio Claisse continued the pressure when he came on and Peru were finally dismissed for a paltry 33 runs after 13.1 overs.  Ignacio ‘Nacho’ Pizzo was the pick of the bowlers with 5 for 6 from his four overs earning him the Player of the Match award.

The Argentinean reply was slow to start thanks to some tight bowling from Sjoerd De Wit (2 for 6 from 4 overs) and Ernesto Arrate (1 for 9).  However, they reached the target from 11.2 overs with some solid batting from Juan Zech and Diego Juarez.

For scorecards, click here.