Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here


LlamasThe Peruvian national cricket team, the Llamas, have performed admirably over the past decade or so. Although every year we have hosted an Easter tournament, many of these games have not been considered full internationals as often visitors have not been able to field complete sides or they have not fully represented other countries.  The South American Cricket Championship (SAC) are considered full internationals, however, and Peru has participated in all but one of these tournaments (also hosting three), since 1995.

In the Easter tournaments, we have tasted success against Brazil, Chile and the Guyana Masters.  The greatest moments for the national team have come in the SAC, among them a victory over Venezuela in 2000 in Buenos Aires; and a narrow loss to a strong Argentina A team in 2004 in Santiago.

71432_529931180449510_3469154155504119170_nThese triumphs were usurped in February 2008, with Peru’s first official, international victory over Brazil at the ICC Americas Division III Championship in Buenos Aires!

Affiliation to the ICC has injected new life into Cricket Peru’s international itinerary, with involvement in the World Cricket League, an official World ranking and participation in bi-annual championships with the opportunity to be promoted or relegated.

Peru participated in the ICC Americas Division III Championship in Santiago, Chile in October 2009 coming last out of four teams. But in March, 2011, the Llamas really bounced back at the ICC Americas Division III Championship in San Jose, Costa Rica, by winning four out of five games, including the prized scalp of Chile … along with those of Mexico, Costa Rica and the Falkland Islands.

Sadly, the Division III Championship was scrapped by ICC Americas, so to fill the gap, Cricket South America decided to make the SAC an annual event. As a measure of the development of the men’s team, Peru defeated both Chile and Mexico at the 2014 SAC, held in Lima – the first time they had won two matches – and only missed out on the final on number of wickets lost.