Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here

Clausura title safe … but last day drama aplenty in Lima

  Posted on: April 25th, 2015

Lima Cricket and Football Club played host on Sunday, 19 April to the final round of the Cricket Peru 2015 Men’s Clausura.

With Chak De having already completed an imperious, undefeated season, the title was never going to change hands at the last minute.

But four of the chasing pack were still able to finish anywhere between second and last, ensuring there was more than enough to play for.


Perennial wooden spooners, The Kiteflyers, squared off against Lima Indians in the early game.

In to bat, Indians started with characteristic aggression, but haemorrhaged top and middle order wickets, falling to 8 for 85 to be looking firmly down the barrel of a two-figure score.

Young gun Diego de la Puente was the principle destroyer for The Flyers, collecting three wickets.

And only a pair of dropped catches from Flyers captain, Matt Spry, denied De la Puente a five wicket haul.

Whilst a truly imposing score was never on the cards, Indians rallied late to post a final total of 124.

The Kiteflyers’ innings also struggled early – though keeping pace with the required rate, they lost four wickets before the ten over mark.

Wides stood head and shoulders above all-comers as The Flyers’ top scorer early, and it took the lower middle order to steady the ship.

In at six, Chris Emmott (46*) wasted no time imposing himself on the bowling, peppering the straight and leg side boundaries with comfortable regularity.

His partnership with Spry (10*) – atoning for his earlier sins in the field – was enough to both see The Flyers home, and avoid another wooden spoon … and claim 2nd place in the Clausura.


Eidgenossen faced LCFC in the late game.

Batting first, LCFC’s openers wasted no time establishing their dominance.

There would be a pattern through the opening stanza – Eidgenossen erratic with the ball, struggling to carve out clear chances, and LCFC more than obliging in picking off easy boundaries in response.

LCFC lost just four wickets by the 20 over mark, posting an intimidating total of 193.

Opener Chris Hodgson’s 60, variously stoic and explosive as called for, was the highlight; and Alex James added some late innings fireworks with a quickfire 46.

After a cautious first seven overs with the bat, hitting at less than one a ball when almost two were required, 193 was always likely to prove a bridge too far for Eidgenossen.

But nobody, it seems, told captain Chris Mahoney. Coming mostly from boundaries, and at a strike rate towering above 100, his 83 not out saw Eidgenossen rise from the doldrums to push their opponents to the brink.

Anyone who dared venture into the tennis court adjacent the straight boundary was in particular danger throughout.

Eidgenossen finished 13 runs short, and the loss meant his team was burdened with the Clausura wooden spoon … but Mahoney could at least console himself with the individual performance of the day.


The Clausura Awards Ceremony, proudly more boozy than black tie, followed.

Chak De were on hand to lift the main prize as Champions, with former Chak De man, Jaghit, now of Lima Indians, collecting the individual medal for Best Fielder.

Those who stood up on the last day reaped the rewards in the major individual medals.

Mahoney went home with Best Batsman medal, and De la Puente’s 14 Clausura wickets saw him named Best Bowler.

Chak De’s domination of the Clausura could not go unrecognised, though, and Rahul K picked up the Player of the Tournament award having scored over 200 runs at the top of the order in 4 matches, including a century.

by Thomas Mortimer